Tips for Advocating For Your Fat Self at the Doctor’s Office

Recent Surgery Taught to Me Always Speak Up

Chrystal Bougon
5 min readJan 11, 2021

I found out I was possibly pregnant in September 2020 and that led me to a radical hysterectomy in late December. The entire story is very “2020” and I will share it all here, soon. (I should mention I am almost 53, so this “pregnant in September” thing was nothing short of a miracle.)

Photo by Hush Naidoo on Unsplash

In December, over a span of 6 days, I had to have a D & C (which did not actually happen) and then 6 days later, a hysterectomy. But, I did get medicated for both. (D & C was more like twilight sedation. Hysterectomy I was under for 3 full hours.) Hysterectomy Video of me talking about this fatshaming on my YouTube channel, Fat Product Review.

I am very involved in fat activism and fat liberation and have been most of my life, but more formally since 2012. During that time I have learned so much about medical fat bias and fatphobia. The concepts I am sharing here are from years of learning and listening to my friends like Ragen Chastain, Tigress Osborn, Marilyn Wann, Jeanette Miller, Pia Schiavo Campo, Jen Mc Lellan, Saucye West, Jes Baker, Marcy Cruz, Corissa Enneking and many others. So much gratitude for these bloggers and influencers for always generously sharing their expertise.

--

--